The only constant in life is change, and in this new age we either adapt or we face extinction.
Toyota Motor Company, a legacy automaker has constantly gone through several change cycles in the course of its existence. Toyota Motor Company is a constant contender of the biggest auto maker in the world, a true testament to its change driven culture of constant change.

The Toyota New Global Architecture is Toyota’s new approach to streamlining its portfolio. The platform will underpin most of Toyota and Lexus brands of different sizes and drivetrains. This bold move aims to cut down Toyota’s slightly over one hundred platform variants to just five, the TNGA-B, TNGA-C, TNGA-F, TNGA-K and the TNGA-L. The TNGA’s first of five platforms was integrated in the fourth generation Toyota Prius in 2015, and by the end of 2020 more than 50% if Toyota’s inventory was already on the new TNGA platforms. Toyota Plans to shift about 80% of its inventory into these new systems by 2023.

The TNGA-B platform
This platform now underpins the unibody vehicles in Toyota’s subcompact car and subcompact SUV segments. This platform replaces the older B platform. It is offered in both front-wheel and all-wheel drive systems and is coupled to a transverse engine in order to maximize on cab space.
This platform has actively been deployed in the 2020 models of the Toyota GR Yaris, Mazda 2 hybrid and Toyota Yaris Cross. In 2021 models it underpins the Toyota Aqua and the Toyota Aygo X.

The TNGA-C platform
This platform now underpins the unibody in Toyota’s compact cars and the subcompact and compact SUV segments. This platform replaces the older and the new MC platforms. It’s offered in the all-wheel drive and front wheel drive configurations with a transverse engine.
This platform is now present in the 2015 Toyota Prius, 2016 Toyota CH-R, 2018 in the Toyota Corolla, Toyota Auris and the Lexus UX, 2020 in the Toyota Cross, 2021 in the Toyota Allion, Premio and the Frontlander, 2022 in the recently launched Toyota Noah and Toyota Voxy models.

The TNGA-F Platform
This platform underpins the body-on-frame vehicles in the full-size SUVs and the full-size pickup trucks. This platform is also expected to be underpinning of the mid-size pickups and SUVs.
It’s currently present in the 2021 J300 series Land Cruiser, 2021 Lexus LX, 2021 Toyota Tundra and the recently announced highly anticipated 2022 Toyota Sequoia.

The TNGA-K Platform
This platform underpins the unibody designs of midsize and full-size cars and mid-size and full-size SUVs.
This platform debut in the 2017 Toyota Camry and Daihatsu Altis. Its also in the 2018 Toyota Avalon, Toyota Rav-4 and Lexus ES. 2019 Toyota Highlander and Toyota Wildlander. The 2020 Toyota Harrier, Suzuki Across and the Toyota Sienna. Its also in the 2021 Lexus NX models. This platform succeeds the older K platform.

The TNGA-L platform
This platform now underpins the Toyota’s mid-size and full-size cars and grand tourers.
It is offered in the rear-wheel and all-wheel drive configurations and is mated to a longitudinal engine. This platform retires the older N platform. It has been integrated in the 2017 Lexus LC and LS models, the 2018 Toyota Crown and the 2020 Toyota Mirai.

The e-TNGA Platform
Save the best for last… announced in 2019, this is Toyota’s modular underpinning for the battery and electric vehicles that have gained prominence in the recent years as automakers actively pursue greener and sustainable mobility designs. This modular design architecture is divided into five modules; the front module, the center module, the rear module, battery and motor. The platform will enable the underpinning of different types of vehicles, battery capacities as well as front-wheel, rear wheel as well as dual motor all wheel drive configurations. The bZ4X model, first debut in Q1 of 2021, will be the first vehicle under this platform. By 2025 Toyota plans to integrate it in a medium sedan, medium minivan, medium SUV and a large SUV as well.

Source: Toyota Press Release